Slide Design Project

 

Speaker’s Outline

Elder Worthlin’s mother taught him, “Come What May, and Love It”

  • Every life has peak and shadows, times when it seems the bird don’t sink and bells don’t ring
  • Those who are happiest have learned from difficult times
  • Become stronger, wiser, happier as a result
  • Not suggesting we suppress discouragement, deny reality of pain, or pretend happiness
  • If we approach adversities wisely, our hardest times can be times of greatest growth—lead to greatest happiness

Look for Humor in the difficult parts of life

  • Antidote for bad days, disappointments, anger, humiliation, etc—Learn to Laugh
  • Next time you’re tempted to groan, you might try to laugh instead.
  • Extend your life
  • Make the lives of all those around you more enjoyable.

Seek for the Eternal Perspective to get through difficult experiences

  • Have you ever wondered “Why me?” when bad things happen?
  • At one time or another, everyone must experience sorrow; no one exempt
  • Scripture examples Abraham, Nephi, Joseph, Emma) Adversity and sorrow tried, fortified, and refined their characters
  • For us, difficult experiences stretch our understanding, build our character, increase our compassion
  • Eternal Perspective (Joseph Smith) “Peace be unto thy soul; thine adversity and afflictions shall be but a small moment…endure well, God shall exalt thee on high…”

Understand the Principle of Compensation

  • The Lord compensates the faithful for every loss.
  • God’s timing
  • Every tear today will eventually be returned a hundredfold with tears of rejoicing and gratitude.

 Put our Trust in our Heavenly Father and His Son, Jesus Christ

  • God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son for us
  • Jesus Christ is our partner, helper, and advocate; wants us to be happy, successful
  • Christ will comfort and uphold us, strengthen us in our weakness, fortify us in our distress—make things become strong
  • Put your trust in the Lord, do your best, then leave the rest to Him
  • Draw near to Heavenly Father & Savior Jesus Christ

Adversity can be a Blessing; we can Learn to Love Adversity

  • Must be opposition in all things
  • Adversity, if handled correctly, can be a blessing in our lives
  • We can learn to love adversity
  • Adversity can be a blessing

 Come What May, and Love It

 

Process: To begin with, I selected a talk I love and created a speaker’s outline. This allowed me to decide on the highlights of the talk and use them as a focus as I created my presentation slides in PowerPoint. I searched for high resolution images which fit each topic and then drew a sketch of each slide to determine how to they would each be designed.

6A.SlideSketch.Hancock

My message is of hope and optimism, and learning to endure difficult times in life with a brighter perspective. My audience is adults and teens who are looking for inspiring and hope-filled messages and images relating to this message. In order to create a more consistent feeling between the images, I decreased the saturation of each one, and inserted a bar with soft edges and glow. I chose colors for the bars based on my color scheme and used the eyedrop tool within each photo to find corresponding colors for each image. I then added a text box on top of each bar to display the topic of each slide. On three of my slides, I created a pop-up image which layered over the bar, and on one slide, I also combined two images by using the Remove Background tool on the one I wanted to place on top of the background photo and bar.

Critique Report: I posted my first draft to our class Facebook group several days before the project due date for critique from my classmates. Sarah Bringhurst suggested that I capitalize all the words, and April Bethea suggested that I stick to a specific set of colors within a color scheme for my colored bars. I decided to keep the contrast of using both upper and lowercase text, and changed a purple bar to blue to fit within my color scheme as suggested. I also submitted my project to my teacher the day before the assignment was due. She pointed out on several slides that the words were too close together, creating a tangeant, and suggested that I move the words in order to solve this issue. On another specific slide, the text was leading the eye away from the page rather than helping to focus on the image, so she suggested moving it as well. She also pointed out a color which did not fit within my color scheme, and suggested I change it. I utilized all her suggestions, and the slideshow here was my finished product!

Font names/category: Gravity, Gravity Book, Gravity Light, Gravity Ultra Light (sans serif)

Color Scheme: Split Complementary: Brick, Blue, Green

Talk Title and Presenter: Come What May, and Love It by Elder Joseph B. Wirthlin, October 2008

Talk Link: https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2008/10/come-what-may-and-love-it?lang=eng

Links to images: foggy path, teddy bear, laughing man, sunlight and clouds, dropped ice cream cone, hand and ice cream cone , hands holding, rope, frog in rain, muddy kids

 

3 thoughts on “Slide Design Project

  1. This is such a great slide presentation. It’s one of my favorite talks and you did it justice. Your images are absolutely beautiful and simple. I feel they all build up to the last image with all the children. It truly is a joyful image! I love the critique process and feel that it’s made all of our work better. The changes you made definitely took your slides to the next level. Great job! Ian Gatchell chose a wonderful topic as well and did a great job. Check it out: https://iangatchellblog.wordpress.com/2016/02/11/slide-design-project/comment-page-1/#comment-10

    Like

Leave a Reply

