LFC Photography Activity

Outdoor Light

Outdoor Light

Indoor Light

Indoor Light

Foreground

Foreground

Background

Background

Rule of Thirds

Rule of Thirds

Lead Room

Lead Room

Learning to use Lightroom with digital photographs was awesome! In each of my photographs, I adjusted the Tone, Presence, and Sharpening. I also added a vignette to the Outdoor and Indoor Light photographs, and the Rule of Thirds and Lead Room photographs.

In addition, when I took the Outdoor Light photograph, I needed to make sure the sky wasn’t blown out. I did this by pointing the center of the lens at the sky first and then moving it to the Mesa Temple below. I also straightened this photograph. For the Indoor Light photograph, I chose a location where natural light entered the room through a window and added a more pronounced contrast and vignette to the photo.

In order to get my camera to focus in the Foreground photograph, I zoomed in, selected the macro setting on my camera, got close to the flower, and held the shutter button halfway down when centered on the flower. I then moved the lens so the flower was on the side to follow the rule of thirds, and snapped the shot. To get the focus on the Background photograph, I changed the camera setting back to auto and stayed close to the flower, making sure that the camera focused on the background. I was also able to copy and paste my Lightroom settings from one picture to the next, which was a great shortcut.

In the Rule of Thirds and Lead Room photographs, I had to be careful with how bright the color of my subject’s shirt showed in the photos. I focused my attention on making some careful edits to the Saturation and Vibrance to keep his skin tone normal without the shirt being too bright or the background feeling not colorful enough. I also made some edits to the Noise Reduction for the Lead Room photograph and added a darker vignette.

I then added watermarks, sized them, and exported them. It was such a streamlined process to be able to make these final edits to all of the photos at the same time, and have them all labeled and exported in such an organized way!

One thought on “LFC Photography Activity

Leave a Reply

